SA State Interclub Competition 2018/19 Season

Round 2  at Gawler Petanque Club 23 Sept, 2018

Perfect spring weather, some serious petanque and plenty of bonhomie were the rewards for a large turnout of competitors in Round 2. As usual, the Gawler club went all out to make it an excellent day, serving breakfast as well as lunch to the hungry petanquers.

Taking home the gold medals on this occasion were the Club d’Adelaide trio of Louis Oltarczy, Wayne Twigden & Alain Rousse, carrying on the excellent form they displayed last season. They got there via a thrilling one-point win in the fourth game against the internationally acclaimed girls from ESP, Deb Rodda, Selina Dally & Wendy Bensen, who went on to claim the silver.

In terms of the premiership contest, the points were shared between all seven clubs in attendance. At the top of the table, ESP and Adelaide moved further ahead of the rest of the field, but by the same amount. Thus, the former maintain the 27 point lead they took from Round 1.

The three clubs that were tied for third place after Round 1 have now been separated, following the same pecking order that has become somewhat familiar over recent seasons — Prospect hold third and are still within striking distance of the leaders, Adelaide Hills slot into their usual spot in fourth, and Gawler drop back to the pack in the fight for fifth. Novar Gardens, the biggest movers in this round, are now at the head of that pack. With a team finishing in fourth place, the Supernovars have shown that their heroics in the final round of last season were a sign of things to come and not just a flash in the pan.

Thanks to those who participated, and to the many helpers, who all made it such a successful day.

Club Ch’ship points
1st Louis Oltarczy, Wayne Twigden & Alain Rousse CPA 30 5
2nd Selina Dally, Deb Rodda & Wendy Bensen ESP 24 4
3rd Heike Whitehorn, John Whitehorn & Allan Sanderson PP 21 4
4th Jonathan Giddings, Janice Bendall & Kenny May NGP 18 3
5th Dave Ward, Lionel Pujol & Tory McBride ESP 15 3
6th Robin Austin, Anthony Pietsch & Naz Saunders AHP/ESP 10/(5) 4
7th Marilyn Trebilcock, Dave Watson & Steve Cadman PP 12 3
8th Greg Anderson, Jill Morrell & Deb Coleman AHP 12 3
9th Adrian Clements, Shelley Li & Claire Rex CPA 9 2
10th Janet Jenkin, Michael Frodyma & Martin Verdonk PP (9) 3
11th Mike Read, Ross Coleman & Quentin Jones AHP (6) 2
12th Susan Krieg, Ken Medhurst & Axel Monneron FAB 6 2
13th Melissa Scott,Gavin Scott & Brett Williams PP (3) 2
14th Glenis Head, Mark Reardon & John Gejas GP 3 3
15th Jean May, Sue Matthews & Peter Johnston NGP 2
16th Clive Paine, Miriam Peik & Julie Sandercock NGP 2
17th Sandy Tilburgs, Dee Greenslade& Garry Karklins ESP 1
18th Rada Pierre & Dominique Pierre CPA 1
19th Rod Sandercock, Peter Matthews & Marilynn Paine NGP 1
20th Stan Wilson, Roland Pye & Dave McKinnon GP 0



CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS   Round 2 Season Total
  Eastern Suburbs (ESP) 39 90
  Adelaide (CPA) 39 63
  Prospect (PP) 33 54
  Adelaide Hills (AHP) 22 43
  Novar Gardens (NGP) 18 27
  Gawler (GP)   3 24
  Feral Aussie Boulistes (FAB)   6 24
  Port Noarlunga (PNP)   –   0